DYK #3 : retain build indefinitely

March 17, 2009

 
If you hold on to a specific Team Build retention policy (new since TFS2008), you might lose all valuable build information of a particular build that you actually wanted to keep.

There’s an option available via the Build Explorer to retain builds indefinitely!


DYK #2 : TFS auto-connection

March 5, 2009

 
By default, Team Explorer always tries to automatically connect at startup to the latest known Team Foundation Server. In my case I often start Visual Studio Team System at home when I was previously connected to the Team Foundation Server at work. So, when disconnected from work, I always get the TF30331 error …

Today, this error hit me for the last time! On the Developer Support Team Foundation Server blog I found how to disable the auto-connection! Sweet!

To make this happen, add a DWORD value called “AutoLoadServer” under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\VisualStudio\8.0\TeamFoundation (for 2005 – change this to 9.0 for Orcas). A setting of Zero means do not reconnect automatically.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.